Saturday, 13 April 2013

Some thought on Mrs Thatcher

Although more a teenager than child because of the innocence lost I will always class myself as one of Thatcher's children.

I didn't want to do this post for the very simple reason that I completely despise the woman and thought it would be hard without speaking ill of the dead.

As far as I am concerned their should be no celebrating that an elderly women has passed away, the time to celebrate was when she left office (which I did) and to be brutally frank those who did are nothing more than idiots, speaking for nobody but themselves and I won't even get started on the prats who chose to damage their communities, in celebration of a person passing because of "the damage she did" to their communities.

However in light the sheer amount of crap I've been reading about the women, from those who 'loved her' to those who loathed her I had to.

Be warned I pull no punches, those of a sincere leaning to the left, won't like what I have to say, Labour members, of which I am one, probably won't and the Tories won't either.

Although I got into politics 'properly' because of problems here (a long story I'll avoid in this post) Mrs Thatcher was the reason why I chose Labour, but in recent years and despite still being a member, I am at a stage where I am not sure what my political leanings are, as such.

In my view she became elected for no other reason than the idiot left being as it was, a necessary Trade Union movement being far to powerful, there was a Government in place that just weren't listening to the vast majority of the very people who it was supposedly the voice of and on the whole the nation had had enough of it.

I know I was completely sick of power cuts and strikes, which while being broadcast by the Unions as being in member interests, they just weren't.

There were even times when I thought it only had to rain in the wrong direction and someone would be out with the natural "we support our brothers and sisters" domino effect kicking in which in our household, with my Dad as a Union man, meant no money or at lot less money coming in that week and in turn all of its consequences.

So I lay the blame on the idiot far left for Mrs T being elected.

Blaming the idiot left for her being elected is one thing BUT blaming the idiot left fully for Mrs T going in the direction she did simply isn't possible, her motives were true Tory and while the Unions did probably need braking, something a lot in Labour knew had to be done but couldn't manage to do, the way she chose to put entire communities on the scrap heap to achieve her goals is what she will always be remembered for and despised for.

Thanks to the idiot far left Thatcher was given the tools to do her nasties but it was Thatcher and her Governments that thrived on the enjoyment of having them to do the evil that she did.

The scars of Mrs Thatcher will last for generations beyond mine and, being the shining mantra that she is to a man who in my opinion is worse than Mrs T in every way, Cameron will ensure that the divides she created will remain for his generation and future generations after it as well.

The idiot left failed this country, Thatcher destroyed huge parts of it, Cameron will try his best to ensure her work is completed and, given the opportunity, do his very best to go even further than even Mrs T would go but my biggest fear from all the crap I've been reading is the hierarchy of the Labour party doing at that they can to ensure if Call me Dave does get booted out the Tories will be back, with a mission statement of "you let them back in and this is what they did".

It's hard to bring David Milliband into this piece but the election of Ed as leader of the Labour party was wrong and because of him only becoming leader through his Union votes he will forever be tied to them and give the Tories their ammo of a "remember the 70's" campaign message which, while already being used by Call me Dave has only got more meaning with the passing of the 'Iron Lady' but, with all that said, even if David had become Leader Labour's message would have been extremely hard to get across because most of the social injustices that effected the majority, like housing in particular, were never fixed in all the time 'we' were in Government, a Government that David (and Ed) were a part of, when it was so obvious that it should have been.

'Our' not listening is what got Call me Dave's Tories (coalition as they prefer) in and as we are seeing history isn't just repeating itself, Cameron is doing his very best to go further than Mrs T even could.

The only good thing for the Labour party is that Call me Dave hasn't learned from Mrs Thatchers mistakes, if he had recognised the best way to achieve is with compassion, not choosing sweeping targets but those who need targeting. If he did 2015 may see another Tory turn in office and not the end of his Government which I hope it will be.



No comments:

Post a Comment